Enzo Mari Perpetual Calendar

enzomari2
enzomari2
(http://www.flickr.com/photos/minhi/320670522/)
enzomari2” by minhi

I remember seeing this calendar a few years ago, but the high price turned me off. Recently I’ve fallen for manual calendars for some reason, i like having to adjust it everyday. It may seem like more work but it’s no worse then marking off days on a paper calendar.

If you mount it firmly in place then it will remain steady as you adjust the bars. However I have it loosely mounted, so it swings freely. When I change the date every morning I have to use the bottom bar to re-balance the whole thing. It’s like balancing an old fashioned scale.

I love the changing shadows and how it visually changes everyday as you adjust each of the bars. The construction quality is disturbingly low for something this expensive–maybe it’s considered “charm” but everything fits together rustically (translation poorly, these are not high fit tolerances). I guess it’s part of the aesthetic, it doesn’t really affect the function and it means every one of these is somewhat unique. However it is so simple that someone with the right tools could copy this for about $10 in materials.

enzomari3
enzomari3″ by minhi

If you want one for yourself hivemodern.com sell one–but make sure you get one for your language, though I like some of the localized versions too bad they don’t make an asian language one like Japanese or Chinese characters. And for the record I bought mine from dwr.com when they were on closeout at a significant discount (they don’t sell them anymore) otherwise I would never buy it.

Leave a comment